jump to navigation

The Difficulties in Networking October 21, 2007

Posted by shannonmuir in Advice, Networking.
trackback

In the entertainment industry (and in the writing industry in general) one thing that is always emphasized is the need to network, Network, NETWORK.  There are many ways to do this – phone, email, and attending events.

This last also tends to be somewhat problematical in a certain way I only really became aware of in the last year – finding oneself at events with people that you may not be on the best terms with, people who aren’t comfortable with you, or people with a mutual aversion to one another.  To be honest, I’ve now found myself in this situation twice, and in both cases I just did not interact with the people in question.  It didn’t keep me from people I needed to talk to (if it had, I would have gone and talked to them in any case and endured what came), but it just made for an awkward atmosphere.

 As I said, I’d been networking for years before I found myself in this situation.  It was a bit of a shock but I got past it.  Don’t let this kind of discomfort stand in the way of what as a freelancer needs to accomplish.  Opening new doors and keeping doors open depends on it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

