jump to navigation

Scenic Heights – The View from Here May 29, 2010

Posted by shannonmuir in Memoir, Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m not supposed to be in the location where I am when I’m writing this. If the world had gone on as scheduled, I would have been home in my Los Angeles apartment.

But I’m not.

Thanks to an airline mechanical problem that canceled my flight, my portable computer and I are on the living room floor of my parents’ house in Cheney, Washington, in the same house I grew up in most of my teenage years.

The street’s name is Scenic Heights. I’ve always taken a bit of symbolic license to that. This house was where it all began, the desire to chase a dream that is now real. I used to sit here on the floor close to the TV and absorb 80s cartoons like a sponge. Then I said, “I want to write for animation.” I was 13 then; at 30, it happened.

Talk about a test of patience.

I sit here and can’t help but wonder what that teenage girl would say if she could see me now, and know that all her hard work, few friendships, and a nearly missed social life were not in vain. Personally, I’m not sure she would fathom it. And if I could go back and save her from any of the missteps in the life to come, I’d turn away the chance. I firmly believe that people are built by what they endure.

I still remember when we had a creative writing assignment that came due not long after I heard from my second professional writer giving me feedback on my attempts to pitch for a show (which had since ended). In one of the most prideful displays I can think of, I serialized my adventures in hearing from both of those professional writers and then read it out loud in class, complete with soundtrack from the show. Given my shyness, I’m amazed I succeed at all. Vaguely, I remember two classmates talking as we left for the hour. One said something about how arrogant I was; it was the remark of the other that caught me off guard. “Well, she’s done more in her life than you have,” responded the fairly popular girl.

That, I guess, is when I created a reputation for myself. I thought everyone would forget over time, though, considering I never moved quite as fast as I thought I would. Ten years later, at my high school reunion, I would be mis-identified as a successful childrens’ book writer. And no, at this point, I still hadn’t sold my first script.

It’s only been since about 2000 that I’ve really become comfortable with my gifts and who I am. I know I toot my own horn a lot, and I try not to excessively, because I know how old that gets. Yet I love teaching people as I go and grow, not after I’ve been there for years and my glory days are behind me. That however certaintly does not stop me from augmenting what I do by sharing the wisdom of others. I think there needs to be balance.

My sister and I sat in this room vowing to be writers. We created several animated series here — bibles and more than a few scripts. She’s doing some journalistic work but mainly has been a mother these last five years. If I get a chance to take her along for the ride in the future, I will.

But even just to know that I’ve been an animation writer once (to a foreign company) makes every minute spent in this room richer and more vibrant. To quote the line of a song from one animated series that influenced me: “You ought to see the view from here.”

I hope someday you find your own personal view to treasure and remember as the place where you began, no matter your passion.

Shannon Muir
Cheney, Washington
April 5, 2003

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

