jump to navigation

Haven’t sold a single copy of my new ebook yet… September 5, 2011

Posted by shannonmuir in Books, ebooks, indie, indie publishing, Kindle, marketing, novels.
Tags:
trackback

Or at least that’s what the stats tell me.

As of Monday 9am for me (noon East Coast) for Indie Book Blowout, my sales stats show flatline. Though on the plus side I got one sample download that isn’t me experimenting with the system.

Then again my publisher’s site – which is what the Blowout linked to – went down several times during the Blowout, which was extremely frustrating.  Who knows what impact that had.  Shrug.  Just got to roll with it.

That’s not to say I haven’t got anything out of this.  Regularly tweeting about this event helped me pick up some additional Twitter followers, eventually crossing the magic 100 mark.  Since I only really got started on the follower thing seriously a few weeks ago, this is a good thing.  Some were my fellow category authors and I even struck up a direct message conversation with one.  Awesome networking!

I also turned it into a bit of a reading competition for myself.  Personally I can’t endorse anything I haven’t read, yet I know everyone gets tired of hearing about just me.  So I turned it into a reading competition seeing how many of the other people in my category I could read during the Blowout.  Starting Thursday afternoon my time, and ending about 9:30 on Sunday, I got in 11 books.  No reviews or anything yet, stars on Goodreads were all I could manage given the sheer volume of reading.  I need to backtrack and do reviews and give “Like” marks on Amazon and all that to those who deserve it, and that’s most of the books I read.

My reading adventures took me from the Caribbean across the United States to Pakistan, from the personal revealing to the deeply mysterious and everything in between, from my own apartment. Interesting way to spend a weekend.

The sale is still going on through midnight Eastern/9PM Pacific, so if you want to see what all the fuss is about where you  can grab books at 99 cents (most discounted this weekend only) check out the Indie Book Blowout.

Maybe I’ll actually sell some copies yet this weekend, maybe not.  But I do know that my investment in the event paid back with value.

Comments»

1. H.E. ELLIS - September 5, 2011

I know just how you feel. I’ve sold only one ebook in the US but many in the UK. Go figure.


Leave a Reply

