jump to navigation

Defining Supernatural and Waiting for NaNoWriMo October 31, 2011

Posted by shannonmuir in fiction, NaNoWriMo, novels, Smashwords, Writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

This year I am doing NaNoWriMo for the 7th time. The closest category I fit in that NaNo is using is Horror and Supernatural. My book though is definitely not horror; at best it is supernatural. Even that is stretching the general accepted connotation of the word. I’m relying on the literal definition.

Supernatural at the most basic is “more than natural,” or people that seem to do more than an average person. That fits this story. The people in it either do (or believe they do) have such attributes. One of the major parts of the book revolves around debate what abilities fall into this definition and how these abilities come about. Even the concept exploring if spiritual gifts from God could be supernatural I know will appear. Science, religion, and the occult will collide.

I thought when I started I’d be trying for paranormal romance as this year’s NaNoWriMo but as I wrote my notes. The subject matter is too deep. There will be a lot of romance and family themes like my other work.

We’ll see by the end where it classifies.

My plan for the next several weeks of #SampleSundays will be to share excerpts of the work as it evolves and perhaps you can help judge. I’m also going to try out Smashwords special promotion for authors doing NaNoWriMo (though they are not an official sponsor). And of course, you can always follow my NaNoWriMo profile.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

