jump to navigation

DOWN TO THE ROOTS to now be released July 2012 May 16, 2012

Posted by shannonmuir in fiction, Kindle, news, Willowbrook Novels, Willowbrook Saga, work in progress, Writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

After a lot of hard thought, I decided yesterday to move the release of DOWN TO THE ROOTS,  the next book of The Willowbrook Saga, to July 2012. Many interviews I did said that the second book would be out this month and the third one in July (the release date for Book 3 is now to be determined, as I also want to release Book 2 of the TRUTH REVEALED series this summer if possible).
It was a tough decision, but in the end I didn’t want to compromise the quality of the book. When I designed my original production calendar for all my works – not only my series such as THE WILLOWBROOK SAGA and TRUTH REVEALED, but standalones like THE PHOENIX RISES which I released in February – I’d been without full time work for a while and so my structure was built upon that. I didn’t have a good gauge to sense how to balance full time work with book releases. Fortunately, in the last month or so, I’ve been able to work again but it did make an impact on my writing time. I’ve decided I’d rather move a date target and give a good quality product than rush to meet a previously promised date and not  do my best. My readers deserve more.

I’ve also decided not to release DOWN TO THE ROOTS through Amazon’s KDP Select program the way EVERYTHING CHANGES was. I think KDP Select can be effective, just like any tool, when used the right way. I definitely think it got more eyeballs to see the first book than it otherwise would have. However, I also think it unfair that readers who get to know me on other platforms now that EVERYTHING CHANGES released through Smashwords earlier this month have to wait three months more just because I delay a release date. The readers are first to me, always.

I definitely keep writing, but at a slower pace, yet I promise to finish the race.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

