jump to navigation

Managing Book Branding May 21, 2012

Posted by shannonmuir in Advice, ebooks, epub, indie publishing, marketing, promotion, Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Over the course of the week I launched yet another website related to my book titles called SPONTANEOUS CHOICES. I know I still need an improved logo for it; I didn’t realize the template I bought and otherwise liked required something or the template brand came in as placeholder.

The story behind this new site is that I have a new single book on tap and was thinking about how to give it more of a destination feel than just pushing it on this blog (similar to what I have for WILLOWBROOK SAGA and TRUTH REVEALED and was trying to decide what URL to purchase. Then it hit me that I didn’t really have any real place for THE PHOENIX RISES or THE HEART’S DUTY either (my other book, TOUCH THE STARS, though not officially not part of the Willowbrook Saga is deeply connected so gets pushed on that page). I wondered if there might be a way to brand selling them all on the same site. I realized what all the leads had in common is they make choices while taking risks without thinking much of the consequences, then get stuck having to face the music in some fashion. From there, the new website was born.

Today writing is more about just putting words to paper and then making them publicly available, and hoping people will come. There’s a lot of effort – and a degree of expense – in enabling people to discover what you have to offer. The trick is to figure out how to do this in both an economical and effective way. We’ll see how this “combined destination” experiment works since the books aren’t technically branded this way at the moment.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

