jump to navigation

Learning from the Past and Future September 10, 2012

Posted by shannonmuir in Advice, analysis.
trackback

This past weekend, I was with my sister’s family in the Seattle area. We decided to go to Seattle Center on Saturday, mainly to see the King Tut exhibit which is there on its final leg before returning to Egypt (the last time any artifacts toured was the 1970s, when I was very young). To see actual items that survive so long in time made by other people – living in a different time but still with many similar struggles of the human condition – served to be an overwhelming experience. I’ve always been interested in cultures and think if I hadn’t become a writer primarily I probably would have ended up in archaelology, psychology, or sociology. All are ways to explore the human condition. I just tend to do it more creatively. (And it struck me as odd because I really identify in some ways with River Song, the archaeologist character of DOCTOR WHO…)

What I also found interesting came in the form of two other exhibits we went to at the Experience Music Project. One was focused on Nirvana, featuring not only instruments played by the group but historical items (demos, handwritten set lists, etc) from the group’s evolution. Whether or not one likes the group – and I do like some of the songs – Nirvana made its impact on the musical landscape. One thing that always stands out to me on the songs, even the ones I don’t like, is the raw honesty of the music and lyrics even when it’s not all pretty stuff. In its own way, this carried a level of impact, though not comprable to King Tut by any means.

The last exhibit covered icons of science fiction, including a Dalek, a command chair and Tribbles from the first STAR TREK, one of the Captain Sheridan uniforms from BABYLON 5, and more. This exhibit definitely could have been more comprehensive and learned more toward TV and film but was a good start to a collection. This exhibit showed the past of what people envisioned as possible futures. In some ways I found it very surreal.

Now I’m thinking about all that I saw and the emotions it evoked, and if there is any way to use that in my writing.

 

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

