jump to navigation

THE PHOENIX BURNS Now Out for Kindle and Smashwords! February 16, 2013

Posted by shannonmuir in Kindle, NaNoWriMo, Smashwords, the phoenix burns, Writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

THE PHOENIX BURNS, my 2012 National Novel Writing Month project, is now released in its entirety on Amazon for Kindle and Smashwords. As soon as Smashwords clears it, other vendors will follow suit. The only reason I waited until now is that there was a publisher as one of the NaNoWriMo sponsors and the book due to subject matter – and how open minded the publisher might be – could have been a long shot fit. They were taking open submissions of NaNoWriMo projects right after, so I decided to take a shot. After getting turned down (which frankly was the outcome I expected but I had to take the chance), the book is now available to the public.

Anyone who downloaded it as a work in progress during the Smashwords unofficial NaNoWriMo hosting event is eligible to get the final product for free. The cost is $2.99 USD. I could not pursue a Kindle Select promotion on this title because of the Smashwords tie-in I’d done previously (I’d lose any of the NaNoWriMo designations if I publish and republish and I’d want to keep that), so I’m going to go wide availability with this title.

Most of my posts focus on the storyline, so in my blog I’ll touch a little more on what is summarized in the author’s note. My original intent last NaNoWriMo was to do WILLOWBROOK SAGA BOOK 6, but I was still editing FILL THE INNER CIRCLE (BOOK 3)  at the time and did not feel ready to skip ahead to Book 6. Although Book 4 was written in a prior NaNoWriMo and Book 5 orignally written years earlier, I’ve seen the storyline evolve and so much new material included that skipping ahead to Book 6 seemed very counterproductive. For the record, it is my intent to do that book for NaNoWriMo this year and make it nine years of completion wins.

Back to NaNoWriMo 2012. To decide not to do a WILLOWBROOK SAGA title left me in a bind with the start just a day or so away. I didn’t want to not challenge myself for the eighth year. So, with no outline and no real character development other than what was known in the other book, I launched on seeing on what would happen if I caught up with the Rayner family from THE PHOENIX RISES, a book I’d released last March. Without an outline, I just let the characters lead and tell their stories after I decided on the tragic event that set the rest in motion. The whole month, I just let the characters tell me what their story was. The result for me was interesting, and several times I found myself confronted with scenes I wouldn’t have planned to do, but looking at the evidence of the characters and how they behaved in the other book turned out to be completely logical. I believe the end result is true to the spirit of the characters established before. I hope you enjoy it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

