jump to navigation

A Familiar Theme… August 31, 2013

Posted by shannonmuir in theme, Willowbrook Novels, Willowbrook Saga, wisps of writing wisdom, Writing.
trackback

Those of you who are familiar with my written work probably notice I focus on a recurring theme, some in more sensationalist manner than others. Women and motherhood, and how they come to that point, shows up quite  a bit. Yet all of this is written by someone over 40 who doesn’t have children of her own. I’m sure some people who see my material wonder what gives.

I wanted to be a mother since I was fairly young. Not the dating and social type, I watched from the sidelines as teen pregnancy unfolded in our relatively small town. Back then I felt compelled enough about my feelings to write a Young Adult novel that I tried to sell to an agent unsuccessfully. Frankly, I had a long way to go on my skills though the determination was definitely there. That book became the seed of what evolved into The Willowbrook Saga, though the book actually dealing with that part of the timeline – radically revised – has not yet been released.

In the beginning , it hadn’t been my intent to build up a twisted town with an underground way of dealing with these issues, of which I personally don’t find acceptable. However the concept of one of the teachers secretly having been born through a teacher/student affair decades earlier came in fairly early in development, and exploring that became the real core to all that followed.

Just to be clear – I don’t believe that a lot of what the young women go through in my books are right. The idea I’m exploring is what do you do if you don’t know any different, and even if you do, what effort does it take to get away from something so entrenched in a culture – both personally and on a larger scale?

My respect for real life mothers is very strong and very real, even if I’m not in that club, and my hat is off to you. I just am exploring the making of choices in some rather strong environments.

For more on the series, see http://www.willowbrooknovels.com

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

